Twenty Year Medal Table for Women’s Football

Summer Olympic Games 1996 – 2012

Association football at the 2012 Summer Olympics 004

Scandinavia was one of the pioneers of women’s football. Denmark took the unofficial World Cup held in 1971, featuring pink goalposts and hot pants but, by the time it was being given more respect, Denmark had been overtaken by its near neighbour, Norway.

Apart from Norway’s title at Sydney 2000, the United States has won every gold medal, but it has not been quite so dominant in the Women’s World Cup. Curiously, therefore, no country has ever won Olympic gold in the year immediately after winning the World Cup. Having regained the global crown in 2015, Team USA is keen to claim that double.

United States 4 1 0 5
Norway 1 0 1 2
Brazil 0 2 0 2
China 0 1 0 1
Japan 0 1 0 1
Germany 0 0 3 3
Canada 0 0 1 1

Next: Which countries have the leading men when it comes to Olympic gymnastics?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s