Twenty Year Medal Table for Modern Pentathlon

Summer Olympic Games 1996 – 2012

Laura Asadauskaitė cropped

Laura Asadauskaite is hoping to retain her title this year and, in the men’s competition, Justinas Kinderis also has a chance of a medal, to maintain Lithuania’s proud tradition.

Five different pentathletes from Great Britain have won medals in just four editions of the women’s event. Kate French could even make it six from five but a more likely British medallist, on the men’s side, is the World Cup Final victor and World No.1 Jamie Cooke.

The current world champion men’s team is Egypt, which could get its first medal in Rio, courtesy of anagrammatical brothers, Amro and Omar El Geziry. A third brother, Emad, competed at the Sydney Olympics. With its eclectic mix of sports, modern pentathlon might seem like an odd path for a country like Egypt to follow but it had a showjumping team as early as 1952 and, in 1912, the first Egyptian to enter the Games was a fencer.

Russia 3 1 0 4
Great Britain 1 2 2 5
Lithuania 1 2 1 4
Hungary 1 1 2 4
Czech Republic 1 0 1 2
Germany 1 0 0 1
Kazakhstan 1 0 0 1
China 0 1 0 1
Latvia 0 1 0 1
United States 0 1 0 1
Belarus 0 0 1 1
Brazil 0 0 1 1
Ukraine 0 0 1 1

Next: The countries and, in some cases, small towns, where the leading rowers are from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s