Twenty Year Medal Table for Synchronised Swimming

Summer Olympic Games 1996 – 2012

Open Make Up For Ever 2013 - Team - Japan - 09

There are two eras of Olympic synchronised swimming. The first was between 1984 and 1996, when the United States and Canada won every gold and silver between them, and the second is since 2000, when Russia has always been victorious. The only constant is Japan, which has consistently won medals in both eras, thanks to coach Masayo Imura.

Imura left for China, resulting in its inevitable rise and Japan’s first ever Games without a medal at London 2012. Now that she has returned, a return to the podium looks likely.

Anastasia Davydova has accumulated five gold medals for Russia, a record which could be equalled by two of its team for this year, Natalia Ishchenko and Svetlana Romashina.

Russia 8 0 0 8
United States 1 0 2 3
Japan 0 4 2 6
Spain 0 3 1 4
China 0 1 2 3
Canada 0 1 1 2
France 0 0 1 1

Next: Chinese players of course dominate table tennis, but they don’t just do so in China


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s